2023 Girls Juniors Open Recap and All-Tournament Teams

On June 26-28 at Iron Peak in Hillsborough New Jersey, the 2023 Girls Juniors Open featured many of the top players in the country across 33 different states from the Classes of 2025 and 2026, taking part in one of the top recruiting showcases in North America. The first day of the event featured the VIP Experience in which players who participated were offered hands-on coaching, mentoring, and teaching from many of the premier coaches on the collegiate level. Among the college coaches that were in attendance included Caroline Wakefield (ASU), Margaret Corzel (Cornell), Nicole Levy (Florida), Danna Dobbie (Loyola), Lauren Benner (Notre Dame), Tara Singleton (Jacksonville), Sam Apuzzo (BC), Melissa Lehman (Rutgers), Nikki Grote (Penn State), Lauren Gunning (USC), Kaci Lewis (UNH), Kerri Whitaker (UPenn), Nick Williams (Duke), Ricky Fried (Georgetown), Paul McCord (USF), Brittney Orashen (USF), Bill Olin (Clemson), Brice Queener (Denver), Joe Spallina (Stony Brook), Brooke Matthews (Navy), Cathy Reese (Maryland), and Danielle Spencer (Stanford).  Along with the coaching and training players in the VIP Experience also had gameplay, providing a platform for college coaches to evaluate players that they will soon be contacting in the 2025 class come September 1st.

At the conclusion of the VIP Experience players joined their assigned team for practice which were coached by many the games’ top high school and club coaches, followed by a media shoot for the 2025s. The following two days was all about the high level competitive gameplay both indoor and outdoor between the teams with coverage of the matchups across the Open Series and Long Island Lacrosse Journal instagram pages which included interviews with both players and coaches after games. Each game included Players of the Game presented by Gait Lacrosse, which were selected by head coach of each winning team after each matchup. The Players of the Game were awarded Gait Lacrosse sticks, as well as a Juniors Open cap and bucket hat and were featured on the open series instagram. Post event the coaches of both the 2025 class and 2026 class have created a first and second all-tournament team which can be found down below!


Position Name Jersey Team High School
A Alexa Spallina 1 Evening Primrose Mt. Sinai
A Kyle Finnell 1 Blue Danube Garden City
A Reese King 17 Beet Red Westhampton Beach
A Tessie Batchelder 2 Astral Aura Noble & Greenough
M Ellie Anderson 25 Astral Aura Garden City
M Mack Borbi 1 Golf Green Shawnee
M Sofia Cangelosi 17 Blue Danube Sayville
M Kylie Lamourex 9 Astral Aura Rocky Point
M Gabby Laurentani 21 Evening Primrose Ridgefield
D Peyton Phillips 13 Orange.com Ward Melville
D Sienna Connolly 9 Golf Green South Side
M/D Lila Cabot 17 Astral Aura Greenwich Academy
D Emma Brown 13 Sharkskin Bayport Blue-Point
GK Jillian Howell 16 Orange.com Cicero-North
GK Ceci Patterson 15 Astral Aura New Canaan
GK Maya Soskin 15 Sangria Sunset Cold Spring Harbor
GK Gabriella Henry 15 Evening Primrose Milton


Position Name Jersey Team High Shcool
A/M Ava Meyn 13 Golf Green Bayport-Blue Point
A Madeline Egan 1 Astral Aura BB&N
A Taylor Murphy 1 Sharkskin Radnor
A Olivia Nicoll 5 Golf Green Montclair
M Lexi Mullahy 16 Astral Aura Cardinal Gibbons
M Jolie Schiavo 23 Sangria Sunset Smithtown High School West
M Molly Hiney 19 Sharkskin Saint Anthony’s
M Charley Bacigalupo 18 Orange.com Sacred Heart Greenwich
M Sarah Anne 17 Golf Green Mt. Olympus
M Addison Smith 23 Astral Aura Colorado Academy
M/D Mia Sommer 24 Blue Danube Wilton
D Quinn Kennedy 11 Astral Aura Darien
D Isabel Alini 9 Evening Primrose Darien
GK Brianna (Breezy) Henke 15 Orange.com Rocky Point
GK Riley Schildt 15 Blue Danube Center Moriches
GK Jackie Feldman 15 Golf Green St. Thomas Aquinas
GK Christina Strakes 15 Sharkskin Walton


Position Name Jersey Team High School
A Elia Choe 2 Mint Leaf Menlo School
A Lily Svirsky 7 Mint Leaf American Heritage
A Peyton Rothfuss 6 Cherry Tomato Penfield
A Cayden Reese 26 Blazng Yellow Maryvale Prep
M Ava Fossati 17 Dark Sapphire Marlborough School
M Taylor Gordon 17 Gloxinia Manhasset
M Jolie Weinschreider 24 Dark Sapphire Huntington
M Olivia Abbott 16 Mint Leaf Sacred Heart Prep
M Caitlin Barnes 3 Mint Leaf Islip
D Kit Laake 9 Mint Leaf McDonogh
D Skylar Hartshorn 8 Cherry Tomato BB&N
D Ella Dyer 9 Dark Sapphire Glenelg County School
D Payton Jeffery 10 Deep Ultramarine West Genesee
GK Julia Lilienthal 15 Mint Leaf Sayville
GK Alison Rolston 13 Cherry Tomato Patrick Fogerty
GK Reagan O’Donovan 15 Deep Ultramarine McDonogh


Position Name Jersey Team High Shcool
A Allison Hankins 3 Deep Ultramarine Paul VI
A Alyssa Lorefice 26 Mint Leaf Smithtown West
A Giselle DiPietro 3 Dark Sapphire Greenwich
A Taylor Reising 6 Carolina Islip
M Regan Backer 1 Baleine Blue Garden City
M Tess Van Ogtrop 24 Cherry Tomato Thayer Academy
M Ava Roemer 23 Mint Leaf Niskayuna
M Sophia Buffardi 22 Deel Ultramarine Sayville
M Anna Bogan 14 Cherry Tomato St. Francis DeSales
D Sophia Novelli 18 Dark Sapphire St. Anthony’s
D Sophia Mele 9 Gloxinia Northport High School
D Katie Pepper 11 Blazing Yellow Sacred Heart Prep
D Casey Smith 12 Mint Leaf Sacred Heart Greenwich
GK Ashley Egbert 13 Carolina American Heritage
GK Addyson Drain 13 Blazing Yellow St. Mary’s
GK Bailey Redford 14 Gloxinia Salem High School

Leave a Reply

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

icon-angle icon-bars icon-times